Tags

, , , , , , ,

Bloody Mary Tour’s second round of Bloody good shots brings me back to some great memories with great friends allover the country. From being with my hometown friends in Chicago to spending a wild weekend in Las Vegas– it’s all here. Even the bad Bloodys. Make sure you check out @BloodyMaryTour on Instagram for awesome Bloody Mary photos!!!

2biscuitco

Denver Biscuit Company (Denver, CO):

DBC is a wonderful breakfast spot located in a building with two other establishments, The Atomic Cowboy and Fat Sully’s Pizza. The Atomic Cowboy serves up tasty Bloody Marys made with Lefthand Brewery’s Nitro Milk Stout, Deep Eddy vodka, and a host of garnishes to please your tastebuds. I am usually a fan of super spicy bloody marys, but the “Atomic Bloody” had a sweeter taste due to the addition of the Nitro Milk Stout. I liked it not only because it was a change for my sense of taste, but because I like “weird” additions to classic items. DBC also has bomb food…. I had “The Franklin” which is buttermilk fried chicken, Tender Belly bacon, and cheddar cheese smothered in sausage gravy, all layered in between a delectable, buttery, and flaky biscuit. Mind you, I also added an egg cooked over easy to get the full breakfast experience.

2blindpig

Blind Pig Pub (Fort Collins, CO): Happy Bloody New Years! I went to the Blind Pig Pub on National Bloody Mary Day, which is January 1st for those of you who didn’t know. Mark it on your calendars for next year! I am glad I drank a Bloody Mary on this day, but I would not return to this locale for a Bloody. I think the bartenders were a little hungover from the night before when making drinks…

2chi

Classic Bloody drinkin’ at 7AM in Chicago after no sleep. We made these bad boys with the [not so much anymore] secret ingredient– caper juice. Caper juice adds a nice twist to your traditional Bloody Mary.

2grandmaj

Grandma J’s Local Kitchen (Chicago, IL): Grandma J’s is a badass spot in Chicago that I recommend you try if you are in the Humboldt Park area. A lot of their dishes are made with locally sourced ingredients AND it’s BYOB. Two points right there for Grandma J’s. Their Bloody Mary, sans alcohol, looked wonderful. I of course added a healthy serving of vodka. For brunch, I ordered the chicken and waffle fritters, which were amazing. Grandma J’s gets an A+ in my book.

2naturalplace

True Food Kitchen (Denver, CO): True Food Kitchen is a great restaurant for vegetarians, vegans, and gluten-free folks (although I am none of the above). They have reallllllly awesome freshly squeezed juices, healthy food, and Bloody Marys made with organic vodka and tomato juice.

2nyc

Some random place in Times Square, NYC. This restaurant’s Bloody Marys and food sucked. Too bad my friends and I were too lazy to go somewhere good on this scorching hot summer day in NYC.

2wolfgangpucks

Wolfgang Puck Bar & Grill @ MGM Grand (Las Vegas, NV): Hallelujah for this dime piece in the MGM Grand! Sometimes I am averse to chain restaurants, but not to Wolfgang Puck Bar & Grill. After a late Halloween evening (that actually did not end…..) spent at Phish, my friend and I dined here in a hungover, half-not-alive stupor.  The Bloody Mary tasted exceptional to my haggard self, while I munched on a wonderful pesto chicken soup for an appetizer. I had a chicken salad sandwich for my main course, which was equally as delicious. The other half of the sandwich was a nice dinner, too. The sandwich was on cherry-pecan bread with alfalfa sprouts and mixed greens, which created a sweet-and-savory meal.

